Home » Challenges » I Was Thoughtless

I Was Thoughtless

So sorry. I was thoughtless.

No, not really, but, what a wonderful set of sentiments, if you need them! It’s from the stamp set, So Sorry. Page 137 of the 2012/2013 catalog. It’s another ‘must have’.

This is yet again another stamp set I’ve had for a while but have not used it! Why, oh, why? It’s great!

My inspiration came from Create with Connie and Mary today. And, it’s a color challenge, CCMC250, using Calypso Coral, Pool Party, and Basic Grey. Lovely colors! And, some great inspiration on their blog too.

I really got creatively inspired with my card this time, even though it’s rather simple. I started with one of those ‘center stair step cards’ as my base. Then I added a couple layered ovals from the Ovals Collections Framelits. The ovals are really tricky for me to stamp words on. They always appear ‘off’. But, this looks pretty even.

Now, I did not have any Calypso Coral Ribbon to use here. I had to get real creative. I punched a strip using the Dotted Scallop Ribbon Border (how appropriate, having no ribbon) and broke down the fibers using my bone folder. After about 5 minutes or so, it pulled apart really nicely. It’s soft as suede! I added one ‘half’ along the bottom and the other half I cut up to make little ribbon strips. Very sweet, huh?

My poor lower stamped sentiment. It’s a little smudgy. But, it is what it is. I do LOVE this card none the less. It’s one of my favorites that I’ve made lately.

What do you think?

Happy Stampin’
Libby

20130502-230700.jpg

12 thoughts on “I Was Thoughtless

  1. What a beautiful card! I am loving your “ribbon”! What a most creative and perfect idea! Thanks for playing the challenge at Create with Connie and Mary!

  2. I love this version of the stair step card and your faux ribbin is very clever! Thanks for joining us in the color challenge this week at Create with Connie & Mary

  3. I know what you mean about the ovals but yours looks perfectly straight! I love the creative way you made your card – simple and beautiful. Thanks for joining us at Create with Connie and Mary this week.

  4. I haven’t seen the oval horizontal on a stair-step card and I really love it; it makes the perfect background for your large sentiment! What a great idea! Thanks for joining us at Create with Connie and Mary Challenge this week!

  5. What a unique card! I love the unusual shape and how you did your ‘ribbon’…CUTE! Thanks for playing along in the Create with Connie and Mary Thursday Challenge!

  6. Love how you used punched paper for ribbons. Love the use of the ovals. Thanks for playing the Create with Connie & Mary challenge this week!

Leave a Reply

